Basically, what was said was, you can't play this card without a Commander present in the current battle.
Was hoping that the card can still function by targeting an unbowed commander in another battle or in my home to move in a peep into a battle where I don't have personalities...
Battle: Target your unbowed Commander: Move a target Personality in your home to the current battlefield, even if he was in an attacking army at a battlefield during its battle's resolution. If he moved, straighten his unit. After this battle ends, destroy him.
Rule of Location
A Battle action can target or be taken by a card in a unit at another location if its costs or effects say they are able to move that unit to the current battlefield.
So you can target an unbowed
commander at another province or at home, but he himself has to be the personality, who moves into the battle.